A couple of months ago, I gave my predictions on what the 2015 San Antonio Spurs team would possiblly look like. Now as we inch closer to the start of free agency, we’re starting to see more realistic possible outcomes. So as of now, here’s what we know :

  • The Spurs have several big free agents of their own that they still have to think of re-signing.
  • Big names like LaMarcus Aldridge could be heading for San Antonio as well.
  • The Spurs cap room isn’t too high.

Right now the Spurs free agents are :

Tim Duncan, Manu Ginobili, Kawhi Leonard, Danny Green, Marco Belinelli, Cory Joseph, Aron Baynes, Jeff Ayres, Matt Bonner, and Reggie Williams.

To me, there’s really only around 4 players from that list that I really want back. Of course I want Duncan, and Manu to return for one more season, and I think we NEED to get back Kawhi Leonard. Those three I really want back. I would love to get Danny Green back, but if we look to pursue Aldridge, getting back Green seems very un-realistic. However, if we can re-sign Marco Belinelli, I’d be fine. In today’s article, I’ll give a few Free Agent names that I want the Spurs to sign, and why.

Tim Duncan, PF – Duncan’s already done so much for this franchise, and the fact that he’s currently 40 years old doesn’t help an anti retirement argument, but if you look at his stats from last year, they’re pretty good for a 39 year old big man. Duncan was so successful last season, that there’s no way he doesn’t come back. Not only that, but I highly doubt he wants to end his amazing career of off a devastating first round, game 7 loss to the Clippers. Duncan stays to get one last chance at a sixth ring.

Manu Ginobili, SG – There have already been a few reports that if Duncan stays, Manu will too. Towards the end of last season, people were starting to question Manu’s play style, saying that it doesn’t really work anymore. But we forget that Manu has come up big for us recently, and he has proven that some times he can get it going and can provide 15-25 points. Same thing I said for Tim, I think for Manu. No way both guys want to end their career off with a game 7 Clippers loss.Both successful players, and both well earned future hall of famers. They both should return for one more season.

Kawhi Leonard, SF – He’s already been called the face of the franchsie. Kawhi’s already accomplished so many things at such a young age, there’s no way the Spurs let him walk away. Kawhi has the potential to become a great player, and if I know that, than the Spurs organization has to be aware of it too. Kawhi’s a must sign player.

Danny Green, SG – Because Green wants so much money, I don’t think he’ll return to San Antonio next season. Hopefully I’m wrong, because I love Danny. He’s a great defender, a terrific passer now, and of course, a cold blooded sharp shooter. Green has the potential to change the outcome of any Spurs game, and has proven to be a valuable weapon these past couple of years. I hope Green stays, but as of now, it’s very unlikely.

Marco Belinelli, SG – If Green leaves, I think the Spurs have to re-sign Belinelli. There were already times last season where Belinelli proved he could be a potential starter for the Spurs, and if Green leaves, Beli could take over his spot. Beli’s almost just as good a shooter as Green is, however, he’s nowhere near the defensive play making of Green, which could be a problem for the team if they decide to get Belinelli. However, at the same time it could be easily fixed, and Belinelli could get better at defense quickly. If Green leaves, the Spurs could get Belinelli back. Again though, cap room’s the main issue.

LaMarcus Aldridge – One of the leagues best big men, great shooter, terrific defensive player, would fit the Spurs system perfectly, yadda yadda yadda, blah blah, all stuff we already know. By adding LaMarcus Aldridge to their squad, the Spurs chances of winning another title would go way up. Not only could Aldridge be useful next season, but think about this. He would be learning from one kf the greatest in Tim Duncan, and would play alongside Duncan. When Duncan eventually retires, Aldridge fills his spot better than anyone else could, and the Spurs are still dominant for a long, long time. I think if the Spurs get Aldridge, everything changes for them.

So with that all said, if it was all up to me, realistically of course, here’s what my 2015-2016 version of the Spurs would look like :

Tony Parker – PG

Danny Green / Marco Belinelli – SG

Kawhi Leonard – SF

LaMarcus Aldridge – PF

Tim Duncan – C

Bench players : Patty Mills, Manu Ginobili, Kyle Anderson, Boris Diaw, others I could really care less

Now you may have noticed that I don’t have Tiago Splitter there. That’s because I think in order to actually get Aldridge and Green or Belinelli, we’ll have to trade someone, and I could see Splitter being that guy. The Spurs just drafted a seven foot center from Serbia, who could eventually take Splitters spot. Sorry Tiago, but if someones gotta go, I see it being you.

In the end, with Free Agency being right around the corner, I feel like the Spurs we know from last season, will be a really different team this year. Whether that means Aldridge comes to San Antonio, or guys like Danny Green are gone, it’ll be a different looking team. Can’t wait to see what happens on July 1st when Free Agency starts.

A.B